CUMBERWORTH FOOTBALL CLUB HISTORY
An array of football clubs has existed in the Cumberworth and Birds Edge area since the late 1800’s but the heritage of the club as it is known today can be traced back to circa 1900.
Founded at the long since closed Sycamore pub, then switching to the Foresters, the team played at 3-4 locations in Lower Cumberworth in the early 1900’s and was one of the strongest clubs in the region for a few years in between the two World Wars, winning the top division of the Huddersfield District League and various cups in this period. The team were noted for their kit colours of Amber and Black stripes which are reflected in today’s club colours.
In the same era, there was a Birds Edge team, based out of The Crown pub in that village who, due to an indiscretion, were banned from the league in the early 1920’s. Soon afterwards Upper Cumberworth FC was formed and in the lead up to the second World War, this relatively newly formed club merged with the Lower Cumberworth club, moving to the current home at Crown Fields, Birds Edge, as part of this process.
Once the Crown pub closed in the 1960’s, Upper Cumberworth FC began using Birds Edge Village Hall as its changing facility, players taking the 10 minute walk up Penistone Road to Crown Field until the splendid changing rooms were opened at the onset of the 21st Century.
In 1980 the club shortened the name to Cumberworth Football Club which obviously remains today.
The first junior team representing Cumberworth Football Club was introduced in the 1983 and the club has been building its presence in junior football and developing its facilities and infrastructure ever since. All this has led to the impressive status currently, where we have representation at every age group from Under 6s to under 17s which proves a great compliment to the four senior teams all competing in the Huddersfield District Leagues on a Saturday afternoon, many of the seniors having ‘come through the ranks’ as juniors with the club.
In 2001 Cumberworth was in the first batch of clubs in the country to be awarded the FA Charter Standard, coinciding with the Lottery Funded/Football Foundation project leading to the opening of the Changing Rooms and the addition of the second full size pitch in the same year.
The Cumberworth FC crest reflects this rich heritage, symbols of the Foresters, the Crown and the Star all underpinned by the three brass balls of St Nicholas, representing the picturesque Church in the heart of Cumberworth.
We have had an excellent network of volunteers within the club since the humble beginnings through to present day. These volunteers help keep adding resource to the impressive non profit making organisation which keeps going from strength to strength – providing ever improving facilities for the footballers of the local villages …and adding their own piece to the impressive club history!